Product Review, Re-Review, and Recommendations

I need to begin this post by saying how stupidly busy I’ve been the past couple months, going to school full time and working part time and trying to complete basic life tasks in the leftover time. I’ve finally made it to the last 5 weeks of my esthetics program and I’m happy to say the part time job is no more. I knew it wasn’t going to be a good fit in terms of moving into an esthetician position (from the reception position I had), and who wants to feel stagnant? Not me. Now I have more time to practice makeup outside of school, update my resume, and start looking at where I can work for reals as soon as I graduate. I’m so antsy to get out there and want to get as much experience as possible, and I feel like I have a few opportunities just around the corner. Excitement!

Getting to the point of this post, I had an awesome workout today – the first awesome workout in a few months. While I know it’s not great, I went to my gym with a good amount (read: a lot) of makeup on. I don’t mean in terms of crazy eyeshadow and lipstick, just concealer and foundation. My skin has been especially angry ever since I was on antibiotics and the other meds for my wisdom teeth removal, so I just like going out the door with more coverage.

This brings me to my re-review of L’Oreal True Match Foundation – the bomb dot com guys. I did 30 minutes of strength training, maybe 10 minutes of ab work, and then a 20 minute run plus cool down and I swear you couldn’t tell a difference in my makeup. And I’m not one of those women who don’t sweat. I was sweating just getting ready this morning in my bathroom, so you can bet I sweat while lifting weights and running. Oh, and I sat in the sauna for a few minutes to top it off.

Anyway, I can vouch for the longevity of this makeup. And I wasn’t even wearing my next item to review – Urban Decay’s All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray:

IMG_4680

As many people have heard, this stuff really works. It was especially useful for me when I would be in school and work from 9 am until after 9 pm and needed everything to just stay in place and not melt off halfway through. Steamers are not friendly to makeup and hair.

Next up is Lush No Drought Dry Shampoo:

IMG_4681

You probably know you shouldn’t wash your hair everyday, but for my oily scalp I need help even making it to day two. This stuff has the yummiest grapefruit and lime smell, plus it’s made with cornstarch which is super absorbent. I’m not gonna lie, I’ve always liked using baby powder over any store-bought dry shampoo I’ve tried, but when I heard about Lush’s dry shampoo, I put it on my birthday list. Now that I’ve been using it for a while, I know it’s a better option than baby powder and way better than anything I’ve tried from drugstore brands. Not only does it really freshen up my hair, but it gives me added volume when I shake it in my hair and don’t brush it out (for those of you who have more volume than you want, you can brush it out).

Finally we have Bioelements Restorative Clay Mask and Oil Control Mattifier:

IMG_4682

I’ve mentioned before that Bioelements is the skincare line we use at school, so I’ve become very familiar with it. As someone with oily, breakout-prone skin, the Restorative Clay mask is helpful to me. Clay is an awesome ingredient for sucking up oil and debris in skin types like mine, and paired with the Oil Control Mattifier, I’ve seriously seen a significant difference in the oiliness of my skin. With a mask you might already know that you can use that once a week or so to get its benefits, but this Mattifier product was something I had never heard of before school. You use it everyday under your moisturizer, so I cleanse, tone, apply the Mattifier, moisturize, and do my makeup as usual. I swear to you, I noticed a big difference the first time I used it.

This article explains the top reasons for oily skin, and also explains the science behind this Bioelements Mattifier. I should be a brand rep for Bioelements (I’m not), but I really love the line and this product because they (and it) are effective.

As a sidenote, that website I linked to (skininc.com) is an awesome resource for basic and in-depth, reliable info on the skin and other related topics. I’ve found so many interesting and informative articles and I’ve been thinking about sharing them, along with other things I’ve learned, on this blog. Maybe that way I won’t make crazy long, review/explanation of product posts… oops.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

