Reuben Dip That’s Nothing Like a Reuben

Who likes sauerkraut anyway?

The Reuben dip I’ve always eaten/my mom has always made is different from the recipes I’ve found online, which makes me think it’s not really Reuben dip, but that’s what it’s always been called so I’m sticking with it. It’s so good, and so not healthy that I try not to think about it, or eat it too often.

“I don’t always eat psuedo-Reuben Dip, but when I do, I eat the whole thing.”

Here’s the recipe that I use, which is cut in half for two people or for one loner who likes leftovers (in reality, it might be 4 servings because dips are usually snacks/appetizers and not the full meal…whatever):

  • 1 large, round loaf of bread
  • 4 oz sour cream
  • 1/2 lb shredded Swiss cheese
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1/2 c mayonaisse
  • 1 1/2-2 pkgs Buddig corned beef

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut the center out of the loaf, where the dip will go (but you don’t want to completely hollow it out). Save the bread you cut out; you’ll use that for the dip. Cut that extra bread into chunks, unless you like tearing your bread like a wild animal, which is fine.

Cut the corned beef into small chunks or squares, and mix all ingredients in a bowl. Pour that mixture into the loaf.

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until the dip starts toasting a little bit on top.

Let it sit for a few minutes when you take it out, because that shit is lava. Proceed to chow down.

IMG_4096

I’ve always used the excess bread to eat the dip, but you could try something new like chips or veggies. It’s best to just embrace the fat you’ll be consuming. Treat yo self!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

