Crockpot Chicken Tacos + Loaded Nachos

IMG_4049

I have no idea where my friend got this recipe for chicken tacos, but I think it’s now a go-to recipe for me. If you look at the ingredients and get scared away because of how spicy it is, neither me nor the boyfriend thought it ended up being very spicy. Unless you really have no tolerance for spiciness, don’t worry about it.

Ingredients:

  • 4+ boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I used 4 but could have put another one in)
  • 1 can of chipotle peppers (in adobo sauce)
  • Mexican tomato sauce (the kind I bought came in small cans, so I used 2 of them)
  • 6 tomatillos – 3 of them chopped, 3 minced to the point of liquidation (I was too lazy to get the blender out)
  • 1 onion ( I always finely chop onion because I don’t like biting into onions, but however you like them)
  • lots of garlic (I used almost a whole head)
  • 1 serrano pepper, chopped
  • 1/2-1 cup water (I used closer to a cup but might use less next time to make it thicker)
  • Corn tortillas

Directions:

Add a layer of sauce to the bottom of the crockpot, then add half the chicken.

Add the onion, garlic, tomatillos, and serrano pepper

IMG_4043

Add the rest of the chicken, the chipotle peppers, and the water, and you’re good to go.

IMG_4044

Leave it on high for 5 hours. The chicken will shred easily at that point, then turn it on low. I left it on low for at least 45 minutes before we decided to dig in because it was too hard to resist. I also made this recipe I found on Pinterest while waiting for the crockpot magic to take place. Damn Delicious has a ton of recipes with beautiful pictures included, but this is what mine looked like:

IMG_4045

Obviously not as gorgeous as her recipe page, but regardless, a lot feasting took place. As for the tacos, I didn’t think they needed any additional toppings, although I know some people might like sour cream and other things. Personally, I like eating a lot of foods as they are to enjoy the food itself rather than the condiments. I’m looking at you, people who douse their sushi in soy sauce. Moving on!

IMG_4050

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Crockpot Chicken Tacos + Loaded Nachos

  1. […] last night a made a very yummy recipe I had been meaning to make for a while. I actually mentioned this loaded nacho recipe back in January from the same site, Damn Delicious. This lady’s got some […]

Leave a Reply

