Merry Merry Merry

We’re approaching the threshold, people. The day after Thanksgiving is the day it’s okay, in my book, to start watching Christmas movies. I don’t know if this is a common feeling, but whenever I see Christmas movies or hear Christmas music and it’s not December or close to it, I find it depressing. I caught my mom watching a Christmas classic in October, and I was outraged.

“What are you doing?!”

I can’t imagine enjoying that out of season. And let’s be honest folks, Christmas music is kind of awful as it is, and the only reason it’s semi-enjoyable at the appropriate time is that it puts you in the holly jolly spirit (if you let it). Suddenly it’s fun to think that an overweight man is going to sneak into your house in the middle of the night, and you’re just going to let it happen. But he has flying reindeer!

I think, if you celebrate the same type of American Christmas that I do, you have to get in the spirit and pretend there is some magic that happens; otherwise this whole thing seems way overhyped and disappointing. I can imagine why the holidays would be a depressing time for some people. Maybe your family traditions aren’t what they used to be, or maybe you never had family traditions, or maybe the same people aren’t there to participate in the traditions.

Either way, let’s face it, you can’t avoid all the hullabaloo. Admit that it’s cheesy and then embrace it kids. Put on your favorite holiday movie (or find a new one), get some decorations up, and create new traditions if needed. Above all, put in some QT with the people closest to you, whether that means blood relatives or friends who may as well be. Hey, it’s what all the movies and songs are about, right?

Tagged

Leave a Reply

