It’s a salad.

IMG_3277

I usually reserve my Twitter for the edibles (and the occasional retweet), but this salad required some extra discussion beyond 140 characters. I needed some protein after my workout last night (completed successfully and enthusiastically, yay!) but I have not been in the mood for making protein smoothies for a while now. I had some supplies that seemed like a good enough substitute though. The above plate contains: some fancy organic mixed greens, a couple ounces of seasoned chicken, a tablespoon or two of chopped pecans, a few cucumber slices, and a small amount of goat cheese (I was experimenting).

My confession is that I ended up dribbling some ranch dressing on this. It was really good, but obviously not a healthy choice for dressing. I hear so many good things about vinaigrettes, but I’m picky. I’m not a big salad eater to begin with either. Last Christmas, I did try an awesome champagne vinaigrette that I would definitely make my go-to dressing, but I haven’t had the same one since then. I don’t usually like balsamic, or the weird pear vinaigrette that’s in my fridge right now. Are all champagne vinaigrettes the same? Does anyone have any suggestions?

Sincerely,

Stuck in Ranch Rut

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “It’s a salad.

  1. Get out of the ranch rut lol… Bobby Flay anything thats my method 🙂 My favorite is honey mustard

    take 2 TBsp whole grain mustard, 2 TBsp Honey, 1/4 cup White Wine Vingar, 1 cup olive oil, salt and pepper and if you have an emulsion blender zzzzzoom it up lol delicious 🙂

    Love your salad!

Leave a Reply

