My Moment

You know the song “My Moment” that came out like a year ago? I know, old news, lamesauce. Don’t judge me. But I seriously feel like I’m right on the cusp of it, because I’ve been (kind of) patient and it’s about to pay off because good things are coming, and soon.

On the other hand, I’m wondering if maybe I shouldn’t look at it that way. Basically related to the whole idea that life is about the journey and not the destination; if you’re always looking for the next thing you’re never enjoying what’s in front of you. Live in the present!

But another part of me is like hey, you should always have goals and looking forward to things is exciting. I like the feeling of moving forward and not being stagnant.

Yet I also don’t like building things up just to get there and have this anticlimactic moment of already wondering what the next “thing” is going to be. Like when I was in middle school and thought it would be so much better in high school, but then when I got there, thought it would be so much better when I got to college. Then obviously thought it would be great after graduation. There’s always something. And I’ve learned not to think like that quite as much, but it still happens on some level when I’m not satisfied with something in my life.

There is, in fact, a major thing about to change for me. And any way I look at it, this is an improvement and something that is exciting. I just don’t want to get carried away and realize I got my hopes up too much if it doesn’t turn out to be winning-Willy-Wonka’s-Chocolate-Factory-level of life changing.

So I’m back and forth between over-excitement and being worried about disappointment. Who needs balance? It’s “Ah this is gonna be it!” to “Calm it down self, you could end up right back where you were.” I don’t have a medium setting on my burner.

That’s a little crazy. What do you think?

I’m just waitin’ on that moment, waitin’ on my moment… 

Tagged , ,

One thought on “My Moment

  1. […] I didn’t just get my period. A few posts ago I blabbed about some nonsense related to a big change. Well, the big change is actually happening and I. Am. […]

Leave a Reply

